National Drowning Prevention Alliance
     “Lifesaver of the Year” Award 2012 & 2020
        “Community Lifesaver” Award 2016 & 2018

Header Logo

Drowning Survivor to Speak in Leland


Great Lakes Surf Rescue Project
Dave Benjamin, Executive Director of Public Relations, 708-903-0166
Bob Pratt, Executive Director of Education, 517-643-2553

Drowning Survivor Speaking at Leland Beach Safety Class

And releases a Rip Current PSA

GREAT LAKES, USA – Drowning survivor, Jamie Racklyeft, will be speaking about his drowning accident at the GLSRP’S “Great Lakes Water Safety” class in Leland, MI August 1.

“The Great Lakes have crossed the 300 mark in drownings since 2010,” said  Racklyeft.  “Let’s all help spread the word about water safety.  Even two to three foot waves can generate rip currents twice as fast as Olympic swimmer Michael Phelps.  Save yourself first, and find a flotation device before trying to save others or you may become a victim too.”

After Racklyeft’s drowning accident he created the “Dangerous Currents, Beach Hazards & Water Safety” Facebook page and also released a Rip current PSA.

GLSRP Drowning Statistics
Like GLSRP’s FaceBook Page
Follow GLSRP on Twitter @ripcurrentsafeT


 The Great Lakes Surf Rescue Project, Inc. (GLSRP) is about saving lives.  It is a nonprofit corporation that is a Chapter of the National Drowning Prevention Alliance (NDPA) that tracks drowning statistics, teaches “Great Lakes Water Safety” classes, and leads the “Third Coast Ocean Force” rip current awareness campaign on the Great Lakes.  Become a member of the Great Lakes Surf Rescue Project.

The GLSRP presented at the NDPA’s 12th Annual Symposium, March 14, 2013, in Ft. Lauderdale, FL.  It presented at the 2nd International Rip Current Symposium Nov. 1st, 2012 in Sydney, Australia; the 2012 winner of the “Outstanding Service to the Great Lakes Community” award presented by the Dairyland Surf Classic; the 2011 “Lifesaver of the Year” award winner; and presented at the NDPA’s 11th Annual Symposium in San Diego, March 9, 2012.